Skip to Explorer content

HOKA UTMB® Mont-Blanc

UTMB® Mont-Blanc 2026

UTMB 2026 — template from the public collection. The announced start is 28 August 2026 at 19:45; the GPX indicates 19:48:12. This exported time is not used as the new official start time. The page announces a 45h30 maximum, but the closing time shown in Chamonix is 30 August at 17:30. The wave rule exists; the time of the last wave is not confirmed. Do not recalculate or modify the cutoffs to hide this discrepancy. The table gives 173.6 km and 9,700 m D+. The GPX metadata gives 174 km and 10,000 m D+; the last exported distance is 173.599 km. Trailboard's current calculation gives 171.508 km, 7,798 m D+ and 8,424 m D−: calculated values kept separate from the organiser's reference. Mountain race crossing France, Italy and Switzerland, with remote sections and weather that can change quickly. The organisation requires personal accident insurance covering search and evacuation in all three countries. Go back to the last beacon if you lose the course marking, stay on the route and use the designated areas for resting. Save the race HQ contact details provided by the organisation and check LiveTrail before the start. No unverified number, weather forecast or rescue time is added to the template.

August 28, 2026Chamonix, France

Distance
172 km
Elevation
+7,798 m

Loading route and elevation profile…

Mont Blanc viewed from Le Brévent above Chamonix.
Photo:C NelsonCC BY-SA 4.0 · adapted image

Route reference

Prepare the UTMB® Mont-Blanc 2026 route

The UTMB® Mont-Blanc 2026 page brings together published data for this running route.

The route is listed from Chamonix, France to Chamonix, France, with 171.5 km and 7,798 m D+ on the page.

Start / area
Chamonix, France
Finish
Chamonix, France
Edition
2026
Distance
171.5 km
Elevation gain
7,798 m D+

GPX track and calculated values

Calculated values for this track: 171.3 km of distance calculated from the GPX track · 9,653 m ascent calculated from GPX elevations.

These track measurements remain separate from the organiser's figures and depend on the GPX version and sampling.

  • Source-page value: 173.6 km; distance calculated from the GPX: 171.3 km.
  • Source-page value: 9,700 m ascent; ascent calculated from GPX elevations: 9,653 m.

Documented checkpoints and aid stations

Aid stations or life bases: 10 · listed water points: 3 · checkpoints: 2.

  • Saint-Gervais · km 22.9 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 00:00, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Les Contamines Montjoie · km 32.4 — Services shown: Assistance; Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets. Personal assistance allowed in the designated area. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 02:00, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • La Balme · km 41.1 — Services shown: Medical post; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. Official cutoff: Saturday 04:00, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Les Chapieux · km 52.2 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets; rest area. Hot meal and rest area mentioned. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 07:15, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Lac Combal · km 67.8 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 11:00, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Checrouit - Maison Vieille · km 76.4 — Services shown: Toilettes. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints.
  • Courmayeur Sport Center — exit · km 81.3 — Services shown: Assistance; Näak; medical post; drop bag; shuttle bus; toilets; rest area. Hot meal and rest area mentioned. Personal assistance allowed in the designated area. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 14:15, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Refuge Bertone · km 86.6 — Services shown: Näak; toilets; power charging. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified.
  • Arnouvaz · km 99.4 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 19:15, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • La Fouly · km 114 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Saturday 23:45, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Champex-Lac — exit · km 127.5 — Services shown: Assistance; Näak; medical post; drop bag; shuttle bus; toilets; rest area. Hot meal and rest area mentioned. Personal assistance allowed in the designated area. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Sunday 03:30, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Plan de l'Au · km 132.4 — Services shown: no services shown. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. Official cutoff: Sunday 04:45, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Trient · km 144 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Sunday 09:00, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • Vallorcine — exit · km 155.3 — Services shown: Assistance; Näak; medical post; shuttle bus; toilets. Personal assistance allowed in the designated area. The table does not separately confirm water at this checkpoint; see the general aid station rules. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Sunday 12:15, local time; departure from the checkpoint.
  • La Flégère · km 166.6 — Services shown: Näak; medical post; toilets. Personal assistance prohibited outside the four authorised checkpoints. Näak products mentioned; references, quantities and stock not specified. Official cutoff: Sunday 15:45, local time; departure from the checkpoint.

Sources reviewed

Official sources: 8 · sources with a recorded review date: 8. Updates from the organiser always take precedence.

Latest recorded check: 15 September 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is the UTMB® Mont-Blanc 2026 GPX available?

Yes. The track and its profile can be viewed here, and the file is available as a free download from this page.

Do these details replace the organiser's instructions?

No. This page makes sources easier to consult and separates published data from GPX calculations. Check the latest official instructions before the start.

Reviewed information

Preparation and points to check

Differences and information still uncertain

These items are shown explicitly so an approximation is never presented as official data.

  • The announced start is 28 August 2026 at 19:45; the GPX indicates 19:48:12. This exported time is not used as a new official start time.
  • The page states a 45h30 maximum, but the closing time shown at Chamonix is 30 August at 17:30. The wave rule exists; the time of the last wave is not confirmed. Do not recalculate or alter the cutoffs to hide this discrepancy.
  • The table gives 173.6 km and 9,700 m D+. The GPX metadata gives 174 km and 10,000 m D+; the last exported distance is 173.599 km. Trailboard's current calculation gives 171.508 km, 7,798 m D+ and 8,424 m D−: calculated values kept separate from the organiser's reference.
  • The Suunto type simplifies some services: Checrouit and Bertone are exported as Checkpoint, La Flégère as First_aid. The services table confirms their liquid aid station and is authoritative for their category.
  • Detailed menus, Näak references, quantities, stocks, bag drop slots, shuttle times, bib collection and weather activation remain to be confirmed in the edition's instructions.
  • The runner guide page was located, but its embedded viewer did not deliver any usable text. No detail of this guide is presented as verified.
  • This listing documents the 2026 edition. Reusing it to explore the application is neither a registration nor a confirmation of the data for a future edition.

Check the information

Sources and provenance

These links point to the documents used. The organiser's instructions remain authoritative if they change.

Race feedback

Have you already run this race?

Share your feedback: conditions, course marking, atmosphere, difficulty or tips for future participants.

No reviews yet. Be the first to share useful feedback.